List of Gluten-Free Grains and Gluten-Based Grains


Learn which grains contain gluten and which ones don’t.

Whether you have a celiac disease or any other form of gluten intolerance/sensitivity, adapting a gluten-free diet is critical in preventing the adverse symptoms of a gluten allergy attack. Consuming small amounts of this sticky grain-based substance can lead to bloating, gas, diarrhea, heartburn, indigestion, upset stomach, headaches and dozens of other symptoms. What’s even more alarming is that celiac disease, when left untreated, can increase a person’s risk of stomach cancer.

But there is a plus side to all of this bad news: the adverse symptoms of celiac disease and gluten intolerance/sensitivity can be avoided by adapting a gluten-free diet. Once this grain-based protein is taking out of the equation, the body will no longer experience adverse reactions associated with its consumption. This is why it’s important to familiarize yourself with gluten-free grains.

Here’s a short list of some of the most common gluten-free grains:

  • Corn
  • Potatoes
  • Rice
  • Tapioca
  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Millet
  • Montina
  • Lupin
  • Quinoa
  • Sorghum (jowar)
  • Taro
  • Teff
  • Chia seed
  • Almond meal flour
  • Coconut flour
  • Pea flour
  • Cornstarch
  • Yam
  • Bean flour
  • Soybean flour
  • Nut flours

These are generally considered safe for consumption for people with celiac disease and gluten intolerance/sensitivity. With that said, you should still pay close attention to the other ingredients in a dish. Just because a particular food or dish contains a grain listed above doesn’t necessarily mean it’s gluten-free. If it contains just a single gluten-based grain, consuming it could trigger a severe allergic attack.

So, which grains should you avoid? Generally speaking, you want to avoid all grains containing wheat, barley, rye and triticale. Being that so many different flours and products are made with wheat, however, this is easier said than done.

Here’s a short list of some of the most common grains that DO contain gluten:

  • Wheat
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer
  • Spelt
  • Kamut
  • Wheat starch
  • Wheat germ
  • Wheat bran
  • Cracked wheat
  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Plain wheat flour
  • White wheat flour
  • Bromated wheat flour
  • Enriched wheat flour
  • Phosphated wheat flour
  • Self-rising flour
  • Durum flour
  • Farina
  • Semolina
  • Graham flour

Hopefully, this will give you a better idea on which grains are okay to consume for people with celiac disease and gluten intolerance/sensitivity and which grains should be avoided. It only takes a small trace amount of gluten to trigger severe allergic reactions, which is why it’s important to eliminate it from your diet. Maintaining a gluten-free diet will protect against attacks while setting your body on the right track to better health.

Comments are closed.